Report of the Chair

Scrutiny Programme Committee – 14 September 2015

MEMBERSHIP OF SCRUTINY PANELS AND WORKING GROUPS

Purpose	The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established. This report advises of relevant matters that need to be considered.
Content	This report is provided to facilitate any changes that need to be made. Proposed membership changes are highlighted for agreement.
Councillors are being asked to	 Agree the membership changes of Panels and Working Groups, as noted in section 2. Consider any other actions in respect of scrutiny panel and working group membership.
Lead Councillor(s)	Councillor Mary Jones, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme Committee
Lead Officer & Report Author	Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Coordinator Tel: 01792 637257 E-mail: brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk

1. Introduction

1.1 The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

2. Revision to Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

2.1 Proposed Child & Adolescent Mental Health Services Inquiry

ADD Mr Dave Anderson-Thomas and Mrs Sarah Joiner

The revised membership will be:

Labour Councillors: 8

Uta Clay	Elliot King
Fiona Gordon	Erika Kirchner
Terry Hennegan	David Lewis
Yvonne Jardine	Hazel Morris (CONVENER)

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 3

Mary Jones	Cheryl Philpott
Paul Meara	

Independent Councillor: 1

Susan Jones	
-------------	--

Coopted Members: 2

Dave Anderson-Thomas	Sarah Joiner

2.2 School Governance Inquiry

ADD Councillor Linda Tyler-Lloyd

The revised membership will be:

Labour Councillors: 4

David Cole	Hazel Morris
Fiona Gordon (CONVENER)	Ceinwen Thomas

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 2

Independent Councillor: 1

Consevative Councillors: 2

Anthony Colburn	Linda Tyler-Lloyd
-----------------	-------------------

Other:

Statutory Coopted Members: 2

David Anderson-Thomas	Parent Governor
Sarah Joiner	Parent Governor

Coopted Member: 1

Prof. Catherine Farrell	
-------------------------	--

2.3 Child & Family Services Performance Panel

ADD Councillor Terry Hennegan

The revised membership will be:

Labour Councillors: 8

Uta Clay	Erika Kirchner
Jan Curtice	Hazel Morris
Terry Hennegan	Ceinwen Thomas
Yvonne Jardine	Des Thomas

Liberal Democrat Councillor: 1

John Newbury	

Independent Councillor: 1 Susan Jones		
Susan Jones		
Conservative Councillor: 1		
Paxton Hood-Williams		
(CONVENER)		
New Panels / Working Groups		
Following agreement of new work, expressions of interest were invited from scrutiny councillors and are reported for agreement, as follows:		
Potential New Inquiries:		
Building Sustainable Communities (<u>11):</u>	
Labour Councillors: 6		
June Burtonshaw	David Lewis	
David Cole	Gloria Tanner	
Terry Hennegan (CONVENER)	Mike White	
Liberal Democrat Councillor: 1		
Chris Holley		
Office Floricy		
Independent Councillors: 3		
Wendy Fitzgerald	Keith Marsh	
Lynda James		
Conservative Councillor: 1		
Anthony Colburn		
, maiony conduit		
Tackling Poverty (7):		
Labour Councillors: 6		
June Burtonshaw	Gloria Tanner	
Sybil Crouch (CONVENER) Joe Hale	Yvonne Jardine Mike White	
Joe nale	Mike vvriite	
Liberal Democrat Councillors: 1		
Mary Jones		
Working Groups:	<u></u>	
Civic Events (7):		
Labour Councillors: 4		
June Burtonshaw	Robert Smith	
Yvonne Jardine	Mike White	

3.

3.1

Liberal Democrat Councillor: 1

Independent Councillor: 1

Keith Marsh	
-------------	--

Conservative Councillor: 1

Anthony Colburn (CONVENER)	
,	

Welsh Housing Quality Standard (10):

Labour Councillors: 6

June Burtonshaw	Terry Hennegan (CONVENER)
Uta Clay	Gloria Tanner
David Cole	Mike White

Liberal Democrat Councillor: 2

Peter Black	Graham Thomas
Felei Diack	Granani Inomas

Independent Councillor: 1

Conservative Councillor: 1

Linda Tyler-Lloyd	

(this working group automatically includes the membership of the former Affordable Housing Inquiry Panel)

3.2 The committee should indicate whether there is any other action that is necessary in respect of scrutiny panel and working group membership.

4. Legal Implications

4.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Legal Officer: Wendy Parkin Finance Officer: Carl Billingsley